Day 19

by mojocho

Do you know that feeling when your body wants to quit, but you won’t let it? Where all you want to do is stop but all your goals, motivation, and progress relies on you taking that one more step? Today was that feeling for one short, yet very intense hour.

It was 90 degrees, maybe 95 in the gym with over 100% humidity as everyone was sweating. My usual boxing buddies decided not to go today for various reasons, the heat being the main/some random “thing came up.” That already made me a little discouraged. We started off doing long multi-round technique drills with Cleveland, Coach Mikes technical coach and heavy bag drills. After we finished the usual buzz of the treadmills started and we drilled.

Image

30 seconds on, 30 seconds off and doing a power set of 30 reps of either heavy bag squats, jump ups, jumping jacks, jump rope, push ups, military press and barbell curls. This turned into. After doing these drills for 15+ minutes of high intensity uphill sprints we ended the workout with 3 minutes, highest incline treadmill sprints continuous. It was awful.

Image

I felt like I had a million “reasons” to stop, it was too hot, my calves felt like they would explode, my shirt felt like it was going to choke me. But I did what all good self improvement books said, “imagine your successful and already finished and living an awesome life…etc” so I imagined going home and eating my pasta while I write blogs then taking a cold shower. It worked. Thank God that was over. 

Image

If only my pasta looked like this.

Image

My actual spaghetti, my diet hasn’t changed at all for a month straight…sigh

That said, I leave you with a quote that I was thinking about: 

 

Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a day, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take its place. If I quit, however, it lasts forever.

