Day 31

by mojocho

There is no feeling quite like waking up at 5 am to go for a morning work out. The sun is not up, there is still a chill in the air, most people are still asleep, and the city lights from the skyline are beautiful. I feel a primal joy, one that comes from waking up and immediately going for a run without getting breakfast. Just quietly lacing on my shoes and putting on light athletic clothes in prep for a hard workout.

We started off with a Charter One run, about one mile. We then did a variety of workouts, 50 bicep curls, 50 standing military press, 100 heavy rope jumps, 200 jumping jacks, 100 incline push ups, 100 mountain climbers, 100 dips, a 150m iron man walk (farmer’s walk), and a 100m tire flip. Also did some lunges while I waited for the others to finish up (the morning group tends to be older 30s 40s adults who are in tremendous shape). As usual, no breaks and minimal three “one thousand” count rests. We then had ab work against the ring, about 100 sit ups with our legs up, 100 bicycles with our feet above the ring and 100 leg extensions with our feet pointing towards the top ropes. Then Coach Mike brought out the 15 lb medicine ball and absolutely punished me. He was dropping the ball from about 8 feet up onto my abs while he was standing on top of the ring. It was much harder than usual, after about 20 hits he had me hold the ball above my head for about 30 seconds while in a full crunch position, then down an inch for longer, than back up. He then finished up with 9 more hits, then one super high throw last hit which had me scream out in agony.

It was a total body workout which is exactly what he promised me when I signed up for the gym about a month ago, there has not been a day which he didn’t keep his word. I don’t think I’ve ever been in better shape. Now I can spend the rest of my day refreshed and alert, with the satisfaction of knowing that I’ve finished my workout.

rise

